George Eliot: Middlemarch

MiddlemarchMiddlemarch by George Eliot
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It took me the first 40 pages to get into the story and the tone of it. And then I liked it. At times it was very dated but I have to say, I think that the characters’ struggle to attain happiness, to live their lives’ according to their believes, to fail and of (self-)deception could have taken place in any contemporary town. The story isn’t dated and I think that is a huge accomplishment in itself.

Some characters I started out not liking, such as Dorothea but they ended up growing on me. Others I liked from the beginning, Mary for instance.

To sum it up: I enjoyed it quite a lot.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

