Margaret Atwood – The Handmaid’s Tale

The Handmaid's TaleThe Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A highly disturbing dystopia dealing mostly with feminist topics such as basically the rights of women to be free. It reflects on our daily lives as women, on patriarchy on misogyny and what could happen if women were truly degraded to objects, owned by men under cover of religion.
But it’s also so much more. I felt this especially in the final chapter, which sort of validates the narrative as a document of its time, shedding some light on the what is called the Gileadean epoch.

It’s also about the protagonist trying to survive, to exist in this hostile world. I was shocked at how I felt estranged from the idea of bathing suits, sandals or short skirts after reading only a couple of pages. Margaret Atwood managed to truly get under my skin with this.

Sometimes I was highly uncomfortable and on the whole, I don’t think this is a very amusing or entertaining read. I found it too terrifying, almost too realistic, even plausible. It has an impact, lingers. And I highly recommend it (as I do with all her novels) but not as a book you sit down and relax with, I think.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

