The Black Arrow – Robert Louis Stevenson

The Black ArrowThe Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

It took me three attempts to get done. After the first third it got interesting, even if the plotting was a bit convenient and didn’t have have so many twists and turns. My favorite line was this:

“And I,” said Dick, “that never cared a straw for any manner of woman until now, I took to you when I thought ye were a boy. I had a pity to you and don’t know why. When I would have belted you, the hand failed me. But when ye owned ye were a maid, Jack -for still I will call you Jack- I made sure ye were the maid for me. (…)”

Well, Dick, I can tell you why you might have fallen for Jack…

Anyway. The language, obviously, also needed some getting used to. But it was okay, in the end.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

