Philip Pullman: The Subtle Knife

The Subtle Knife (His Dark Materials, #2)The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

What I don’t like about it is, that Lyra went from protagonist and from being a strong-willed, independent, smart girl to following around a boy, neglecting her mission to find out more about Dust and letting him boss her around (and he did, don’t even start arguing with me).

Why? Is it because she has to fulfill a role that is sexist? The frail woman who had been persuaded and who disobeyed? And why was book 2 narrated in Will’s POV so much? It would have been clear that he also had a part to play if one had stayed in Lyra’s POV. So, I’m not really happy. (Also, the whole religious theme isn’t interesting but that’s just me because I don’t see a necessity in re-writing a story, in this case the Bible. Well…maybe book 3 will be better.)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

