Lionel Shriver: We need to talk about Kevin

We Need to Talk About KevinWe Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

At first I was e bit hesitant to start the book, because I work at school and didn’t want to bring work at home. But once I did, I loved it immediately.

I understand Eva, the mom, so much that at times it was uncanny. All my arguments against becoming a mom are in the book (and some other thoughts I’ve had in regards to the USA). All my fears that I’d be just like her (because you simply cannot give it back, the kid I mean), are in the book. So, that was … interesting to say the least.

The writing itself is intelligent and the style fits perfectly. even though I read the book rather fast, I kept wanting to avoid the ending, since I knew what was to come and I didn’t think I was ready to face it but the style helped and it wasn’t clichéd or over the top, I think.

Anyway, I’d recommend the novel without reservations.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

