Christopher Paolini: Eragon

Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle, #1)Eragon by Christopher Paolini
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The first thing I noticed was that in the first 2/3 of the story, the style was wooden. The sentence structure was always the same and most basic. This made it a bit difficult for me because I found my mind wandering. It improved towards the end though and as, I can only assume, the author got to the place in the story where he wanted to be.

I also continuously substituted Eragon with Aragorn. That both fall in love with a dark haired female elf was also not helping. And that, sadly, that elf is called Arya confused me even more because I put “Stark” after her name too…and thus saw a little girl in my mind’s eye. (Not his fault that last bit, though). I also think it’s sad that the Dwarfs and Elves are basically Tolkien’s. They look and talk like them and the Elves come from over the sea. I would have loved a new spin on it. I also read Vanilor somewhere which is too close to Valinor for me to not roll my eyes.

These may be coincidences but they weren’t helping.

I started to enjoy it the better the style became. I understand the author was in his Teens as he wrote it? So, I can be forgiving and will read on. 🙂 It has potential. But, honestly, I prefer LOTR over this. And I prefer Laurence/Temeraire over Eragon/Saphira. Had I not read those before, it might be different.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

